Chocolate Chip Cookie for 2.

I’ve contemplated starting a food blog but I guess I’ve decided to take the plunge and try it out. So, hopefully I have the gas to keep this running.

This blog isn’t meant to be like the millions of flood blogs out there.If you know me, I am a fairly private person and I want to keep this blog pretty small, just for the people I know and myself. Plus, I have a shitty phone camera to shoot with and I test recipes, not create them. Many people do not know but my fridge is FULL of recipes stuck on everywhere. That’s where I keep recipes I know that works and for easy reference during cooking times šŸ™‚ So, if one day my kitchen were to burn down and I can’t bring along all the papers with me, at least I will have this site to come back to. Unless, my Alton Brown cookbooks burn too. Then, I’ll weep for the $140 cost of replacement and thousands of post-its I have in the books.

Anyway, I will slowing catalog the recipes I’ve tried. Starting with this!

image1I usually try a new recipe once a week but lately with my kitchen prep table being varnished and my wisdom tooth extraction, there was a 3 week down time. I had this lonngggg craving for cookies and I had to bake something to take the edge off from working on the weekend. So, I came across this recipe from TheBakerChick and it is awesome. Small batch, short prep time and yay to portion control! Pat gobbled most of them before I had to stash them somewhere in the kitchen so I get to taste it.

Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies (For Two)

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 15 minutes

Total Time: 25 minutes

Yield: 2-6 cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 325F/160C and line baking tray with parchment paper.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk the butter and sugar together. Add the vanilla and yolk and whisk until smooth and creamy.
  3. Sieve flour into a separate bowl. Add salt and baking powder to the flour.
  4. Combine the dry goods to the wet goods and stir until just mixed. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  5. Scoop the dough into 2-6 portions depending on how many cookies you want. They will spread a lot- so leave at least 3-4 inches between each scoop of dough. Your best bet for each portion is to use a cookie scoop dispenser ( I use #20) or weigh them out.
  6. Bake for 12-15 minutes. Do NOT overbake. They may look doughy on the inside- but they will continue to bake while they cool.
  7. Cool on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes then transfer to a wire rack.

I made 6 cookies and baked them at 13 mins. Just a word of caution though, each oven is different and best is to bake them to 12 mins then check and add more time if needed. If you take them out and they already look cooked, please just throw it out or pellet someone with it.

Recipe from TheBakerChick

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookie for 2.

Leave a Reply

