Beer Can Chicken


For the past month, I’ve been working every day trying to get as much time banked as possible for my sister’s wedding in India next Jan. 2016 is going to be an insane year of traveling so I needed to find a way to get as much vacation time as possible. I am very lucky that I get to bring my work home on weekends (those baked goods for the boss is paying off) and be able to fit in housework or baking/cooking in between. It gives me a much needed break from mouse-clicking and I get to do what I love most at the same time!

I was browsing Buzzfeed friday night and they featured Beer Can Chicken. Their article didn’t use any seasoning but I thought I should give this a try. After some digging, I came to realised that 1. you need a dry rub. 2. This can be done on a BBQ but oven will give you more control.

I was skeptical when I popped the chicken in. No oil = no crispy skin. 1 hr 15 for a chicken to be fully cooked?! How does a chicken sitting up have even cooking?! the chicken didn’t even cooked at all halfway through. 350F seems a little too low of a temperature to roast… MAN I gave up and just walked away to let it do it’s own thing.

When the timer rang and I opened the door, the chicken was crispy brown, oil  pooled in the pan was sizzling and the smell was amazing. The best part? The skin. OHMYGAWD. The skin is so crispy, I was doing a little dance in the kitchen. 😀 I didn’t even need the gravy I made on the side.

If you ask me when this is compared to Alton’s B&B Chicken, it doesn’t require much prep at all BUT you have to crave the chicken.And if you butcher crave a chicken like me, just use your fingers! Forks and knifes are over-rated.

Pat went to town on the whole chicken and was still picking the bones at the end of it. Guess who only had a tiny bit of meat and some skin 😤

Beer Can Chicken

Prep Time: 15 Min

Cook Time: 1hr to 1hr 30 min

Yield: 1 Bloody Crispy Chicken

Ingredients

  • The rub
    • 2 tablespoons smoked paprika
    • 1 tablespoon Kosher salt
    • 2 tablespoons onion powder
    • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
    • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
    • 2 teaspoons dried thyme
    • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
    • 2 teaspoons black pepper
    • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • Fryer Chicken (1.5-2kg /3-4 lbs)
  • A can of beer, any kind

Steps

  1. Set your oven to 350F/175C
  2. Adjust your oven rack so that it is sitting on the bottom second or third level. This is so that your chicken can fit into the oven sitting up. Your chicken is already decapitated, you don’t want to do it again.
  3. Combine the rub ingredients together in a bowel. It would be best to mix them and pour it into a shaker (like those chili flakes shaker at pizza joints). you can keep any leftover rub for 6 months in an air tight container so long it doesn’t come into contact with the chicken or your chicken-laced fingers.
  4. Get everything ready, set your rub, have your chicken ready, set your roasting pan next to you. Open the can of beer, drink 1/4 of it and set the can in the middle of your roasting pan/deep dish pan.
  5. Towel dry your chicken with paper towel. Rub the dry rub all over the chicken, make sure you get into the nooks and crannies like under the wing flap, between the thighs and even in the cavity!
  6. Insert the chicken over the beer can via the cavity so it is sitting up with the can shoved into its ass. Move the thighs stubs are facing you.
  7. Pop into the oven for 1hr
  8. Check on your chicken via instant read thermometer. The breast should read 165F/75C and the thigh 180F/82C. If it doesn’t, continue cooking via 10 min interval and check.
  9. Remove the chicken and tent it with aluminum foil to let it rest for 10 mins.
  10. Remove the beer can ( I had to had help for this.)
  11. Crave and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Beer Can Chicken

  1. Pingback: Multi-Meal: Pull Pork | MellyMeli

Leave a Reply

