One Bowl Pumpkin Bread

THIS. THIS.IS.SO.BLOODY.GOOD. and you know what is even better? All of it can be mixed in ONE BOWL = less wash up and your house will smell warm and fuzzy.

I had the recipe printed and stuck on my fridge for over a year without attempting it and I am smacking myself in the head why didn’t I try it earlier. Pumpkin is something I have been hesitant with cause I didn’t grew up eating it so I am not sure about the flavour. I guess it isn’t so bad but maybe not too adventurous to cook pumpkin something for dinner.

I made this before cooking dinner yesterday and popped the loaf out of the pan onto a rack to cool. I had my back towards it and Pat came into the kitchen to get water. All of the sudden Pat said that the pumpkin bread is so good and my eyes widen. I walked over to look inspect the bread and true enough, there was a corner of the load picked at. On top of it, the loaf was rotated strategically so the picked corner can’t bee seen at first glance. Don’t need to mention the obvious who’s the mouse in the house. JUST LOOK AT THAT “MOUSE’ BITE. ARGH!

Pat knows not to pick anything I make unless I tell him so because it annoys me especially for loaves and cakes. If you’re gonna try it, cut a slice or thinner slice. Don’t pick a corner or slice it the wrong way. Anyway, he could tell I was quite mad so he tried to earn brownie points to no avail. Should have smack him with my wooden spoon like he’s my son.

One Bowl Pumpkin Bread

Prep time: 10 mins

Cook Time: 65 mins

Yield: 1 amazing loaf

Ingredients

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cloves
  • ⅛ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ¾ cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup vegetable oil
  • ⅓ cup water
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Butter and lightly flour a 9×5″ loaf pan, set aside.
  2. Whisk together sugars, flour, spices, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Ensure you break up the clumps of brown sugar.
  3. Make a well in the center of the bowl. Add pumpkin, eggs, oil, water and vanilla. Whisk, starting with the wet ingredients and working your way to the outside of the bowl, mixing until batter is smooth and clump-free. (Don’t over-mix)
  4. Pour batter into the loaf pan and bake for 55-65 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool in the pan for 5 minutes and then cool on a rack until ready to serve.

Recipe from TheBakerChick

3 thoughts on “One Bowl Pumpkin Bread

Leave a Reply

