Weekday Spaghetti Carbonara

There’s something about Italians and their ability to make awesome pasta even if they are not cooking it from their motherland.

During my first year of university, a bunch of Singapore exchange students and I befriended 3 Italians during a international student exchange session. They invited us over to their place for dinner and they made the most amazing carbonara ever.
I know, I say anything here is amazing but it’s true and I actually forgot that I ate Italian made carbonara till I made this. Big joke if you ask me.

I think that the dish was so amazing is 1. it’s cook by true blue Italians, ha! 2. the cheese and Pancetta makes the whole difference.

I remember vaguely going grocery shopping with them and they spent hour and the deli and cheese section scouring through the selection available. Not only that the block of cheese they bought cost a whopping $30 for a tiny block. Big regret why I didn’t start having interest in cooking way earlier.

Anyhow, please don’t cheap yourself out on the cheese and pancetta. I go to the local farmers market where there’s a cheese shop and butcher. This quick to put together meal is perfect for a weeknight!

Before someone points it out, It’s linguine in my picture cause I was trying to finish up leftovers in my pantry.

Weekday Spaghetti Carbonara

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 15 minutes

Yield: 4 Servings

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces spaghetti
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup grated Parmesan
  • 300g of pancetta , diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste ( I use quite a lot)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley leaves

Steps

  1. In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta according to package instructions; reserve 1 cup water and drain well.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together eggs and Parmesan; set aside.
  3. Heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Add pancetta and cook until brown and majority of fat has been rendered.
  4. Stir in garlic until fragrant, about 1 minute. Reduce heat to low.
  5. Working quickly, stir in pasta and egg mixture, and gently toss to combine; season with salt and pepper, to taste. Add reserved pasta water if too dry, one tablespoon at a time, until desired consistency is reached.
  6. Serve immediately, garnished with parsley, if desired.

Recipe from DamnDelicious

 

 

Leave a Reply

