Pumpkin Apple Mint Dog Treats

Being a dog owner, I knew this day was coming – The day that I will make treats for my dog that hopefully he will enjoy. Just like with any kids, I do try to expose him to as much fruits and vegetables possible. Well, truth to be told, it’s because I want to see his reaction and frankly, it’s cheaper than having to keep buying them!

I’ve learnt that raspberries,blueberries, sweet potatoes and pumpkin are his favourite. Apples and strawberries are dependent on his mood. Leafy greens are not worth a sniff, peanut butter means time for pills but he falls for it every time. Pineapples and raw carrots will be spat out and appropriately flown across the room. But, in general, he is pretty good with his food which I am very blessed 🙂

When it comes to cookies, I am terrible at rolling the dough into even thickness. I have no idea if it’s the technique but I never seem to get them even. So, sugar  and shortbread cookies are my absolute nightmare – I’ve tried so many recipes, only to end up angry at myself as they never come out correct. Sticking to equally portion, round cookies are my staple, which explains the Chocolate Chip Cookie , Soft Ginger Cookies and SnickerDoodle Cookies . 😀 Now, you know why.

But when I saw this from DamnDelicious, I figured it would be worth the try to conquer my fear. After all, it’s the dog is eating! As you can see below, I think I deserve some self=praising as it turned out really cute.

I went a little extreme to stamp Maio’s name on his cookies as I fear Pat will eat one and complain why it’s tasteless!

But as it turns out – The human Pat got really jealous and I had to make a batch of chocolate chip cookies right after. *rolls eyes*

Pumpkin Mint Dog Treats

Prep time: 30-45 mins

Cook Time: 25 mins

Yields : 40 treats – depending on cutter size

Ingredients

  • 1 cup pumpkin puree ( I usually buy them in a can but make sure it’s not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 cups whole wheat flour, or more, as needed
  • 1 apple, grated
  • 1/2 cup mint leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley leaves, chopped

 

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat; set aside.
  2. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat pumpkin puree and eggs on medium-high until well combined, about 1-2 minutes. Gradually add 2 1/2 cups flour at low speed, beating just until incorporated. Add an additional 1/4 cup flour at a time just until the dough is no longer sticky. Add apple, mint and parsley, beating just until incorporated.
  3. Working on a lightly floured surface, knead the dough 3-4 times until it comes together. Using a rolling pin, roll the dough to 1/4-inch thickness. Using cookie cutters, cut out desired shapes and place onto the prepared baking sheet.
  4. Place into oven and bake until the edges are golden brown, about 25 minutes.
  5. Let cool completely.

 

Note: Ensure your countertop is dusted with flour as the dough can get a little sticky once rolled. Also, I found that dusting your cookie cutter between cuts helps the cut pieces to come off easier.

Recipe by DamnDelicious

 

 

Leave a Reply

